top of page
  • Writer's picturecharliewilliams

A Week in the Life ✿

Updated: Feb 7, 2020

This post has been a long time coming. It has taken a while for me to feel like I have a set routine. But this is Senegal and this is Africa, there is a certain joy here in going with the flow that I never appreciated back home. So although I never really know what each day will bring, this is what a typical week in the life looks like for me in Foundiougne.


Within each of these days there is plenty of room for mobility and change. At work for example, some days are spent working on the computer and filing reports. Other times, however, PROSAF program coordinators will take me into the villages with them to participate in community meetings. As someone who likes routine, it has taken me a second to get used to these seemingly last minute adventures, but it has made going to work more fun.


Chill time varies a lot depending on how I am feeling that week. Sometimes I like to just nap if I have been especially exhausted that day or watch some Netflix. Currently I am re-watching my favorite sitcom "How I Met Your Mother". I also use this time to read, chat with my family, and take walks around the neighborhood to get some fresh air.


On of the things that took a second to get used to when I first arrived in Senegal was the differences in meal times. Back in the United States, I regularly ate breakfast at 7am, lunch at noon, and dinner at 6:30pm. The first time I had to wait until 10:30pm for dinner in my new home, I was starving! Luckily though, my body has finally adjusted to this new eating schedule. Wonder what it is going to be like transitioning back to American eating time!


A Day In The Life As A YAGM Volunteer


A few weeks ago, I took my camera out into my community in the hopes of sharing a taste of my life in here Foundiougne. Come along with me on a typical day and explore what it is like to live in Senegal as a volunteer!

 

Are you still curious about that I do in a week? Leave a comment below with your questions? I will be checking this blog post and answering questions below!


Be kind to yourself and be kind to others! Peace :)

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page