top of page
  • Writer's picturecharliewilliams

Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust

For Christians around the world, it is currently the season of Lent. Starting with Ash Wednesday, and continuing to Easter Sunday forty days later, Lent is a time for reflection as the community prepares for the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Often this reflection focuses on our need for forgiveness and God’s endless mercy and love.


In ancient tradition, Lent was typically practiced through fasting. By denying themselves of food, Christians used the time to remind themselves of Jesus’s sacrifice for the world and to spend more time reconnecting with God. The forty days of fast is significant because it is said to reflect the time Jesus fasted for forty days and nights in the wilderness, resisting temptation from the devil (Matthew 4:2).


However, as time progressed, this practice of self-denial evolved. Closer to the original practice of fasting, many Catholics still choose to not eat meat on Fridays. But, by far, the most popular method of Lenten “fasting” in contemporary American Christianity is the practice of “giving something up”. By “giving something up”, whether it be sugar, alcohol, or even Netflix, it is hoped that through this penance the person gains new perspective on life and devotion to God. I myself over the years have given up soda and Starbucks, just to name a few, as my way of Lenten fasting.


Because Lent is such a big part of the church year, I was curious how my partners at the Lutheran Church of Senegal would be partaking. I wanted connect with the church I was sent to serve in a deeper way and learn how traditions vary from country to country. Did they “give up something” too?


On my quest to discover Lent in Senegal, I first began by talking with my site-supervisor Penda. Penda has been a cultural life-saver for me in my YAGM year and is always willing to answer all of my questions. She is also a Senegalese Catholic. I shared with her my interest in knowing how Christians here celebrate in the season, but also how I can best participate in a holiday important to my own faith tradition. I told Penda how most Americans celebrate, and was surprised to here in return that in Senegal, the ancient tradition of fasting is still the most essential element to Lent. No food from sunrise until sunset, for forty days.


It has been said that many Senegalese Christians commit themselves to this practice as a way to prove themselves to their Muslim neighbors, the religious majority in the country. This is because, during the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims are required to fast as part of their religious practice. However, after talking with my site-supervisor, I did not see this same sense of competition previously mentioned. Instead, I saw someone who truly wanted to center herself in reflection and spend time in holy devotion to her creator.


After this conversation, I asked myself if what I had done in the United States was enough. Perhaps it was, especially since people can express and feel the presence of God in many unique ways. But on the other hand, maybe this practice had become too easy over the years, making me lose site of Lent’s true purpose. Instead of turning myself toward prayer, I just steered clear of macchiatos and lattes.


In this reflection and through the conversation I had with Penda, I decided to challenge myself this year to reconnect to the original intent Lent. To remember the great sacrifice Jesus made for our sins. In order to do so I am going to be doing a few things.


First, I have discerned that I will be partially fasting. I want to experience and be in solidarity with my community of fellow Christians in Senegal. While many fast for the full forty days, the tradition does vary family to family. In my placement, this will be a full fast on Wednesdays (sunrise to sunset). Additionally, any money that would have been used for snacking or other “extras” like sodas or juice will go toward the community offering at my church.


Second, I will be reading the devotional, Resipiscence 2020: A Lenten Devotional for Dismantling White Supremacy a collection of poems and readings edited by Vahisha Hasan and Nichola Torbett. Living in a cultural context so different from my own and on a continent so misunderstood and under appreciated by much of the “western world”, this is an essential time to educate myself further about the world around me. White supremacy unfortunately exists in this world, and although many don’t want to hear it, it exists in the church. It is time to recognize this issue within our society and to challenge ourselves and others to confront it head on. If you are interested in participating in this study along with me, you can check out the Resipiscence book here.


Third, it is my goal to add a new Lenten themed blog each week leading up to Easter. I hope that this is a way for us to connect across time and space and enjoy the community of faith together. I want to share my experience participating in Lent in a new context and I want to be held accountable for my participation this year. May this be a time of reflection and growth for all.


As I sign off, I leave you with Psalms 51:10-12, part of the readings from the first week of Lent:

“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit to sustain me.”
 

This blog entry is the first in a series during the season of Lent. If you would like to read the other entries, you can find them here.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page