top of page
  • Writer's picturecharliewilliams

Wolof Crash Course




Did you know that Wolof is the lingua-franca of Senegal? Many people across West Africa speak the language including those living in The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali and Mauritania.


This year I am the first person to learn Wolof in my site placement, Foundiougne (previous YAGMs learned Serer another local language). It has been quite the adventure learning the language! I am currently working with a language tutor; however, my family, coworkers, and community have all been enthusiastic teaching me new phrases and words everyday.

Many of you have asked me to share what I have been learning, so I decided to create a list of useful phrases and words that I hear in my community.* Included is the Wolof word and the english translation.** Hopefully in a future post I can include a part two, there is still much to learn!

 

Assalaamaalekum

Peace be upon you


Maalekum salaam

Peace be upon you too


Na nga def?

How are you?


Maa ngi fi rek

I am fine ( literally: I am here)


Ana waakër gi?

How is the family?


Ñu ngi fi.

They are fine (literally: They are there)


Naka liggééy bi?

How is the work?


Mu ngi dox

It is going well (literally: It works)


Jàmm nga fanaane?

Did you spend a peaceful night?


Jàmm rek

Peace only


Foo jóge?

Where are you from?


Amerik laa jóge

I am from America


Ba suba

See you tomorrow


Ba ci kanam

See you later


Waaw

Yes


Déetdéet

No


Jërëjëf

Thank you


Tang na

It is hot


Nam naa la

I miss you


Malarow

I miss you more


Gis naa la gis

English equivalent: Long time no see


Lan nga wax?

What did you say?


Fan lañuy dem tey?

Where are we going today?


Bax na!

It’s good!


Lekkal!

Eat!


Ndekki

Breakfast


Lunch


Reer

Dinner


 

*It should be noted that written Wolof varies greatly in spelling. Many of the words here may look different depending on which resource you reference.

**Most pronunciations can be found on Youtube or on Boston University’s webpage for the “200 Word Project”, a database of specialized words pronounced by native speakers in a number of African languages.

81 views0 comments
bottom of page