top of page
  • Writer's picturecharliewilliams

A Place to Call Home

At last, I left for my host site on Sunday, September 15th. And… let… me… tell… you, it was quite the adventure getting to Foundiougne.


Meeting the Host Families

Meeting my host brother Demba at YAGM family orientation!

I met the person who would take me to Foundiougne (pronounced foon-joon) the day before my departure. A representative from each YAGM host family came to Dakar to greet us and to be oriented on their roles as hosts for the coming year. My family member was Demba. Twenty-two and full of excitement, my new host brother (well, actually my cousin, but everyone is a bother or sister here) couldn’t wait to share his family with me. He took so many selfies with me to share back home!


Cars, Buses, and Horses?

The next morning, I was informed that Demba, YAGM Sarah and her host uncle, and I would all be traveling together for the first leg of our journey. Because having a family car is a luxury here, we needed to take a public car to Fatick (pronounced fa-teek). Our first mode of transportation was a “sept-place”, a station wagon with seven seats which takes groups of passengers to a set location. Each of us, plus our luggage, crammed into the car, squeezing ourselves in any way we could. Then, in a flash, we were off! Leaving Dakar and orientation in the rearview mirror, we were on our way.


About three hours later, the “sept-place” made its stop at the Fatick bus station. Sarah and her uncle split off to take a taxi to her new home, which left Demba and I to find transport to our next stop. Demba chose a bus for us to get on. Already stuffed to the brim, we climbed in and some poor soul was left to heave my massive suitcase to the roof of the vehicle. This ride wasn’t long, and I was at the river bank in about 20 minutes.


I used a boat like the ones pictured here to cross the Saloum river. In the background a new bridge is being constructed for easier travel.

My brother and I hopped off the bus for yet another switch in transportation. In order to get to Foundiougne from Fatick, we had to use a boat called a pirogue. The boat seemed a little precarious to me. It was long, skinny, and didn't appear to be capable of carrying all of its passengers plus my gigantic suitcase. Nonetheless, the river crossing ended up being pleasant, with beautiful view and cool breeze.


As soon as I exited the boat, Demba swiftly carried my luggage away to a… horse cart! At first I was surprised by this change in vehicles, but I soon came to realize that the “chariots” (as they are called) were perfect for getting to and from places on the bumpy dirt roads. We made our way through the town, then finally, I arrived at my new home!


First Impressions


My host family was immediately welcoming and helped me settle into my room right away. I have a host mom and a nine-year-old host sister. Although the immediate family I live with is small, the extended network of friends is expansive. Everyday for lunch and dinner there has been at least one new face invited to eat with us “around the bowl”. The love and friendship here runs deep, and I am happy to be invited in.


The view from the roof of my house. A minaret from the local mosque can bee seen in the background on the far left.

Foundiougne itself is a sleepy town. Everyone knows each other here and the pace of life is much slower than I am used to back in the States. Walking the streets to work the first time with my site supervisor Penda, was definitely a culture shock. Although the walk is just a few blocks, it took us 20+ minutes to get to work! Penda told me that it is essential to greet everyone we pass, that this form of respect was one of the most important things in Senegal. This is definitely not what I was used to back in the states, where a quick wave or hello sufficed! Despite this however, I have been appreciating this piece of culture to connect myself with my neighbors.

 

Wow… there is so much that I would like to share, but that’s why this blog is here! Thank you for reading!


Here are a few questions for you to think about before you go:

~ Do you or your family have a car that is easily accessible?

~ How easy is it for you to travel long distances, to school, to work?

~ Have you ever thought about your privilege of transportation accessibility?


Peace friends, and remember, be kind to yourself and be kind to others :)

96 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page